Conference Realignment

Some may have noticed the “Sporting Logistics” page on here, and the fact that it’s never been touched. I originally created the page as a way to propose ideas on how to coordinate different aspects of sports (e.g. a BCS playoff format) – basically, how to make things run better.

But after thinking about it for awhile, I’m going to begin the “Sporting Logistics” section with a story that’s constantly in the news: conference realignment. Realignment has gotten to a point where it’s impossible to keep track of all the changes. So here’s how I’ll break it down:

1) I’ll go conference-by-conference, because each situation is unique. Each conference is shifting at a different rate and for different reasons (though money seems to be a prevailing factor in all cases).

2) I’m only focusing on football (for now). Like it or not, football rules college athletics, so I’m only going over football conferences at this point. Hopefully I can attack basketball at a later date.

3) I’m only looking at Division 1, unless D-II team is moving up to a Division 1 conference.

I’m going in alphabetical order, so the ACC is first. Stay tuned.

One thought on “Conference Realignment

  1. Fantastic site you have here but I was wanting to know if you knew of any forums that
    cover the same topics talked about in this article? I’d really like to be a part of community where I can get responses from other knowledgeable people that share the same interest. If you have any recommendations, please let me know. Kudos!

Leave a Reply

